•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

She is one whole hand now*

E decided she wanted Rosetta from the new Tinkerbell movie to be on her birthday cake this year. I told her that was a great idea because I figured I could get one of those edible picture things you put on the top of the cake and that I would add some flowers (she is the Garden Fairy) and sprinkles and we’d be set. The problem there is that the movie has only been out for a month or so and Disney hasn’t had a chance to cover every possible surface with the Fairy’s faces yet and so there was nothing even remotely close to Rosetta to decorate the cake. We were now onto Plan B which had me drawing Rosetta free hand with gel icing. My hopes were shot down really quickly when, using this for reference:

rosetta

I did a practice try and came up with this:

sad looking fairy

Um, yeah. It kind of looks like a praying mantis in a skirt or something. What can I say? An artist I am not.

I did a bit better on Saturday night when attempting the real thing. I made a mistake on the first try, but it was a layered cake so I just made the mistake the middle and started again on the new top. After a very long, slow process I came up with this:

Rosetta cake

This will probably be the ugliest cake I’ll ever make, but E loved it so I’ll mark it down as a success. Or it was until I woke up the next morning to find her hair had all slid down the side of the cake, but whatever. Here are a couple other shots:

side of cake

cake close up

As for the party? It was great. This was E’s first big(ish) party and she had so much fun with all her friends. After everyone arrived we had a total of 10 kids, 14 adults, 4 teenagers and one little baby. My not so big house had a hard time fitting everyone in, but did manage.

party guests

We played some games: first a balloon race:

Balloon race

::snicker::

Balloon race

(As you can see most of the kids were a bit too shy too play. K gave it a whirl, but just ended up running around the yard with her balloon while happily screaming when the race started.)

Next we played Pass the Parcel. This was the first time I’ve ever wrapped one of those suckers up and is it ever a pain in the ass. I couldn’t not do it, though – the kids EXPECT to see a parcel and it had better be passed.

Pass the Parcel

Then there was some playing, chatting and a lot of eating and last, but not least, it was time for the cake. I loved having so many people there to sing for E and I think she did too. She blew her candles out…

Blowing out the candles.

…the cake was devoured (plus the cupcakes that made up Rosetta’s garden), we passed out the Christmas themed loot bags (for my Christmas baby) and we were done.

After preparing the day before, the actual party time, and cleaning after I was freaking exhausted, but so pleased E had a great day. This was her first milestone birthday so it was worth all the effort.

HAPPY FIFTH BIRTHDAY, E!

*OK, so not for two days, but she started calling herself five from the day of the party so I will too.

«

7 Responses

  1. You are awesome! Looks like a fantastic party!

    Happy Birthday E!!

  2. I think you nailed the cake. Looks gorgeous to me. And awesome party, too!

  3. i think that cake looks wonderful! And if she liked it, that is all that matters anyway. You did a great job. I can’t believe she is FIVE!!!!

  4. You have MAD cake decorating skills! And the party looks like a lot of fun too. 🙂

  5. i cannot believe how much love you managed to bake/make into that awesome cake! srsly, you did a phenomenal job…E is clearly loved. happy Christmas Birthday, E!

  6. I can’t believe she is FIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Urgh. She’s just adorable and I agree with everyone else, the cake rocks.

    My birthday’s coming up in April. I like bad tv, spending outside my means and the odd cigarette when tipsy – think you can mock something up??

    I’m sorry I haven’t been around, it’s so good to catch up on all things blurry xxx

  7. I thought that this blog has things about maplestory. But this is just ugh. But go to my blog, it’s fantage one. fantageanne.wordpress.com it’s kinda Click https://zhoutest.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment