•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

    IMG_3270

    IMG_3279

    IMG_3278

    IMG_3269

    More Photos
  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

Do they have rehab for five year olds?

Tonight I was talking to E about the need for her to stop sucking her thumb. Not too long ago we managed to get her to attempt only sucking her thumb when she went to bed at night and it worked, but only for a short time and lately it’s been getting out of control (relatively speaking). E has a “lovie” (and I am using that term very loosely here as it is mostly a bunch of wool) called Aggie. She once told us that if she smells Aggie she can’t help but suck her thumb and tonight I mentioned that if she is not able to cut back we might have to take him away. The following was her response/ explanation (slightly paraphrased because it was a few hours ago and I can’t remember crazy preschooler logic):

If you take Aggie away I will still suck my thumb because it is in my bones. I don’t know why I can’t stop, but I can’t. I can’t help myself. If I see something white I have to suck my thumb. Aggie is white so other white stuff makes me suck my thumb. See that wall? It’s white so it makes me suck my thumb. I look out the window and see stuff and I suck my thumb. My bones are white so they make me suck my thumb. It’s slightful* for me, it makes me happy. I don’t know why, but I can’t help myself.

She sounded like a junkie trying to explain their addiction. And we’re no closer to solving the issue.

*Delightful, but she would not accept that was the word she was trying for.

2 Responses

  1. HAHA! “My bones are white so they make me suck my thumb” is just about the funniest thing I’ve heard.

    That was a pretty eloquent speech for one so young. I think this may be a losing battle.

  2. Oh. My. God. How can you refuse her when she offers such a response? I dare anyone to try, purely so they can hear something similar. Dear lord, it’s so cute, it kills me.

Leave a Reply

