•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

Marriage is Love

I’ve been trying to find a way to write an eloquent and smooth reading post about this, but I am no writer so I’m just going to get the words down. I wrote a brief post about it on my old blog, I mention it in my 74 Things page and I always have the Marriage is Love button on display in my side bar here, but I’m going to attempt to expand on my opinion that gay men and women should absolutely have the right to marry anywhere in the world.

I am proud to be from a country (Canada) that has legalized same sex marriage nation wide and proud to have ancestory in another country (Norway) who will be doing the same as of January 1, 2009. I reside in a country (Australia) that unfortunately feels it necessary to discriminate against some of its citizens and residents based upon their sexuality. Of course I won’t be here much longer, but it is still disappointing. Though I have no personal ties to the USA this post is inspired, in part, by California passing Proposition 8. Via the internet I know several people who’s lives are affected by the fact that only two states out of fifty recognize same sex marriage.

It makes me sick to think that one group of people is able to deny another group of people their rghts (or what should be) simply because they don’t agree with the way they live their lives.

Ok, so you’re Christian and follow the bible down to the last word *cough*doubt it*cough*, so what? Letting your neighbours Scott and Tom get married is not going to affect you and your belief system. They won’t expect you to come to their ceremony, to personally bless their union or make you re-write some of your favourite passages. Nope, they simply love each other and want to live their lives together as a married couple and enjoy some of the benefits the straight married couples do.

You say marriage is a spiritual bond and has only had one definition within the church for thousands of years? Alright, fine maybe it has. But things and people change and evolve and that is a good thing. A great thing, even. If Betty and Sue get married at your local church that does not change how meaningful the bond you and your spouse have made. It does not affect your marriage at all, as a matter of fact. All that will happen is two more people who love each other and want a legally recognized bond will have that right.

Besides all that isn’t there a little fact were Church and State are meant to be separate? Whatever happens to that when all these rights are taken away, anyway?

As for those who protest same sex marriage because it will then be allowed to be taught to your children at school, well don’t you want your children to have as much information infront of them as possible to make up their own minds? Oh. Right. Of course you don’t. We all know that bigotry and discrimination have to be bred somewhere, right? See, I don’t believe in God. That is a big subject. A huge subject some might say. However I am more than happy for my kids to be taught about religion and different beliefs held by people all over the world when they start school. Why? Because it is a very big part of some people’s lives and I would not want to deny my children the right to take that path if that is what would make them happy. See how that works? There is school, there is a subject I don’t agree with/believe in, there is my kids having the freedom to make up their own mind on the matter and there is me still allowed to have my beliefs whether they are the same or not. Neat, eh?

Alright, I better wrap this up since I seem to be heading in the sarcastic bitch direction. Basically I’ll be happy to soon be raising my daughters in a country where if they happen to be gay they will be viewed as equal under the law. I also have a hope that they will, one day, live in a time where the entire world can claim the same.

           
Marriage is love.
3 Responses

  1. I didn’t even realize it when I wrote this, but there is a National protest against Prop 8 in the US.

  2. I have to respectfully disagree. You wrote that marriage between your neighbors of same sex won’t affect you or your belief system. But it will affect the belief system. See the belief system is based on the fact that the bible says marriage is between a man and a woman. The bible doesn’t “evolve”. It isn’t supposed to change with current events. It is supposed to be the word of God for all eternity.

    Now I will preface that statement with the fact that I am not a Christian and I want to see same sex couples have every single right in the US that traditional couple have. But I do agree with the church that it should not be called marriage. If gay rights advocates want a marriage that they feel is recognized by God then they can start their own church and have their own ceremony. Being recognized by God has nothing to do with changing the law. If they want the rights afforded married couples by the state, then they should ask for civil unions or look to change those laws, not the laws around marriage. Demanding both is ridiculous. They don’t have the “right” to change the views of Christians throughout the world in order to cater to their personal desires. A little looking at things from the other side of the argument can go a long way to compromise, which is something that gay rights advocates seem unwilling to do.

    We are having this debate in my blog as well as covering many other issues in politics today. I would welcome your thoughts on any subject. The only rule on my blog is that everyone has to treat everyone else with respect. I hope you will come visit it at:
    http://standupforamerica.wordpress.com

  3. While I do understand your point, I still don’t agree. I’m sure there are plenty of gay Christians and I’m sure they would like to someday be married in a church recognized by a God that they believe in and believe he loves them the same as any straight person.

Leave a Reply

