•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

I think I may have answered my own question…

Remember a little more than a month ago when I wrote this post about becoming too antisocial and complaining about all the socializing the preschool seems to be forcing on me is trying to do? At the time there was two upcoming events: the family get together in a local park and the birthday party for one of the kids in E’s class. Since then a third has been added to the list – dinner and drinks at a local pub for all the mums, and it’s tonight.

How many did we/I attend or plan to attend? None. We did not go to the family thing because it was on a weeknight from 5:30pm – 7:00pm and we didn’t get home from picking Andy up until after six. And it was dark by then. And cold. As for the dinner and drinks tonight? I wanted to go (no, really – I did), but we just don’t have the money this weekend so there you go.

The party that I was planning on taking E to tomorrow? Yeah, that won’t be happening because the party was THREE weeks ago. I was thisclose to calling the girl’s mother this morning to get her address because I had lost the invitation, but luckily I found it at the last minute and saw the date. I’m not too sad about missing the party (I’m sure you’re shocked), but I feel like a complete asshole because a couple days before the actual party I had told the mother that we were definitely coming. At least I didn’t spend any money on a present yet and thank jeebus I hadn’t been hyping the party up to E.

Also on the list of forgetfulness is the open day for the primary school we pan to enrol E in next year*. Wednesday I was just fiddling around the house when I thought to myself, “Hmm. May 21st. Was there something for E’s primary school today?”. And I looked in one of the bazillion pamphlets we’ve been given the last couple of weeks and sure enough, there it was in black and white: Open Day 9:30am – 10:45am. (Which, let’s be fair is hardly and open day so much as an open hour.) I glanced up at the clock and, of course, it was 11:00am. This wasn’t a mandatory event or anything, but still! WTH is wrong with me? Well, besides the fact that I post pictures of my kids like this on the internet:

Is this not the saddest face you ever did see?

Oh, come on! Am I the only one who thinks this is so pathetic it’s cute? And just so you know the phrase that induced this face was, “Eat your lunch.”. I know. How am I even allowed to have kids?

* I’ll have something serious to ask you about schooling soon so put your thinking caps on!

3 Responses

  1. Our kind of people should definitely not be allowed to have kids, but there’s no law against it (yet), so let’s keep poppin’ them out!

    And I thought I was the only one who forgot everything.

  2. Would it be wrong of me to say it only gets worse? Plus if your house is like my house, the ‘mom’ is the scheduler, the planner, the pretty much everything else besides whatever my husband’s job is person, and it gets a lot harder to remember stuff when they’re in school!

    And then it’s 7 a.m. and your daughter is all, “Yeah I needed 30 cupcakes baked for today.” Ah!

  3. awww… she looks absolutely adorable… and heart broken. i often get tempted to take photos of wolf when he’s crying but can just see him in years to come on the couch of a counsellor saying “she took photos of me while i sobbed”.

    obviously that didn’t stop you.

Leave a Reply

