•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

Dilemma x 2

I have this thing about eating baked goods made by people I don’t know. Actually I don’t even like eating baked goods of some people I do know. I mean, they make the stuff in their house with no regulations and ample opportunity to lick spoons or dip fingers in batter. Blech, even writing that turns my stomach. I felt like this as a kid, too; there was only a few friends mothers baking I was willing to eat. (Amy, Wendy was one of them. Who could possibly resist the parade of baked goods that came out of her kitchen?) Now with all this in mind I think it would be fairly obvious that I am not fond of eating things made by children. Kids are dirty a fair bit of the time so unless I know they’ve washed their hands – unless I’ve seen the washing happen – I am not going to eat that cookie, muffin, ball of spit and dirt your kid, even my kid, has produced. I don’t care if the high temperatures will kill any germs present because that just means the ickyness is still there, but dead.

Here is where my first dilemma lies, today at E’s preschool they are doing a Mother’s Day rigamaroll and part of that is they have made some baked treats. I assume they will bring the treats around and I will be expected to choke one down. If they could guarantee me that I was having one E made I would just ignore all the lights and whistles going off in my head and eat and (at least pretend to) enjoy my treat. But. BUT. There are 25 kids in the class. That is 50 possible germy kiddie hands going into the batter. Fifty hands that could have been sneezed on, coughed on or stuck in unthinkable places (kids can be gross, ok). FIFTY! I have avoided the baked goods at another thing the preschool put on earlier in the year, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to avoid these without being noticed and pegged a mean mummy. I really don’t know how this will go down, but I’ll keep you posted.

My second dilemma is one you will actually have time to help me with should you choose. Have you noticed the “Possibly related posts” links at the bottom of the post (when you’ve clicked on comments)? What do you think? I’m not sure what to do about them. I definitely do not want them there, but if I choose to turn them off then I will be taken off that list on other people’s blogs and I have actually received traffic through those links. But, do I even care about traffic like that? I’m not sure. So tell me what you think and maybe that will help me make my decision. Thanks!

4 Responses

  1. Well, ok then. It seems like the possibly related posts thing isn’t showing up. I swear it was here last night. Still give me your opinion if you know what I’m talking about incase they come back…

  2. You are not alone…LOL! I saw that thing this afternoon, shortly after my first post.

    I was taken aback, at first.

    Now I kinda like the idea. After all, it may bring in someone who “gets” something you wrote today…like me, when you wrote about baked goods.

    So…did you eat ’em?

  3. yeah, grimy goods. How did it go? I am going to tell my Mom this story today (emphasizing the sentence about her) and it will definately make her day!

  4. So I ended up having one of the treats and I’m not going to lie…it was pretty awful. Not eating one just wasn’t an option.

    And due to the overwhelming response to my second dilemma I have decided to just leave the related links thing up (when it actually comes up, that is).

Leave a Reply

