•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

1096 days

Today is my blogoversary! (The counter in the side bar is off by about half a day because I assume it is on American time, but today is the day!) I’ve only been here since August, 2006 but before “it’s all a blur” I started my blogging adventure with “Babbling Bente” on March 2, 2005. Here is my very first (very lame) post:

My First Blog

This is my first blog. I ended up here because I went to the [my high school] Alumni page and saw Tanya’s website listed and went and had a look and then I ended up on Jenn’s site and decided to make one of my own. So here I am. I had a few troubles figuring things out, like how to get the little picture in the about me part…as you can see I still haven’t got that, but hopefully I’ll get it eventually. Other then that I like it all so far.

It’s a hot day here in [this town where I live], already 36 and climbing. Tomorrow should be better, only 25. I’ve been here in Australia for nearly three and a half years now. I miss Nova Scotia, but it’s good here. I have to say that if I could pick to live here or there it wouldn’t be an easy decision. We’ve put alot of work and money in here for me to become an Australian resident and eventually (in two years) a citizen, plus I get enough money from the government here that I can stay home with E, and I really enjoy not having snow. Then there’s my friends and family in Nova Scotia who I wish I could share E with every day, and the summers don’t get temperatures anywhere near 40 degrees! Who knows once I get citizenship here we may try Nova Scotia for a bit, but we’ll have to save like crazy to afford a move like that.

My daughter E is now 14 months old. I can’t believe how fast she is growing. She is becoming so independent too. She has started feeding herself with a spoon or fork, and insists that she does it by herself. She walks around everywhere and in last couple weeks has begun climbing everything. She’s the best toy I’ve ever had, so entertaining!

Well that’s all for my very first blog, it probably won’t be long till the next one.

And it wasn’t too long because I posted this picture 20 minutes later:

Pigtails

That’s E at about 14 months old. The picture is way light because our monitor was dark, but I didn’t know that and so I readjusted a ton of photos and pretty much ruined them, but I think the cute still manages to break through.

When I started blogging I had no clue what it was all about. The only ones I read were the two I mentioned in that post plus a few from their links. I actually thought Dooce (who I discovered through Jenn’s links) was Jenn’s cousin or something and it took me more time than I’d like to admit to figure out that wasn’t the case. Once I stumbled through a few more links I found mrtl who had a huge blog list and I was introduced to a ton of other people all over the world. After that it certainly didn’t take me an embarrassing amount of time to realize just how amazing the blog community can be.

So, that’s three years down and here’s to (at least) another three more – as sporadic as they might be!

5 Responses

  1. Happy blirthday! We must’ve found each other through Mrtl, who I found through her comments at Dooce’s.

    Hard to believe we’ve ‘known’ each other for three years!

  2. Happy Anniversary! I’m another Dooce/Mrtl convert! 🙂 After all this time, it’s hard to remember how we all found one another.

  3. Happy blogoversary!

  4. Happy 3 years!

  5. Hooray! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

