•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

Time keeps going forward no matter what I have to say

Somebody had their first day of preschool yesterday. Here, I’ll give you a hint…

school girl

The big day finally came.  I was expecting tears from both sides, but it didn’t happen. I was also expecting it to be hard for me to leave for both of us, but the only one who put up a protest was K because she wanted to stay and play.

Once home K went straight for E’s new toy dinosaur that she hasn’t let K even come near since getting it at the museum on Sunday. We fluttered around the house for a while, went to the grocery store and then just waited until it was time to pick E up. I think it will take us a bit of time to figure out what to do on E’s school days because the reality is that after a couple hours we were both kind of bored.

The time finally came to pick up E and we found her with a “Good Manners” sticker smack in the middle of her forehead. We said our goodbyes, I forgot to sign her out (On the first day! I’m such a failure. ) and we headed to the car. Again K tried to get away to the playground so I had to chase after her with my arms full of treasurer paperwork (So much work! I had no idea what I was getting myself into!)  and then attempt to wrestle open the child proof gates with a kicking toddler in one arm and all my papers in the other. We managed to get through and then I started asking how E’s day was. It was as difficult to get info out of her as I had expected, but I managed to find out a few things like her favourite part was playing outside, she ate her whole lunch and she played with a boy named Jason. She spilled out a few more tidbits throughout the afternoon and I think I ended up with a pretty decent recap.

It didn’t sink in until last night, but I have to admit that I didn’t realize how hard it would be to miss out on a huge chunk of her day. I’ve been there for every part of every day of her life for the last four years (minus a couple outings in Nova Scotia and one shopping trip here). Not knowing what she did for five whole hours was weird and sad. This is the beginning of E having her own life, separate from me. I knew it would happen eventually, but I just didn’t know it would be this soon.

5 Responses

  1. Awwww . . . hang in there, Mom! She looks so cute in her little uniform!

  2. She looks so adorable. I know how hard it is to lose control…just wait until they tell you NOTHING about their day at school. You have to ‘trick’ them into telling you stuff! LOL

    I can’t even imagine them going off to college…

  3. Aw, I feel your pain. Mine’s at school right now, too. She love it, though, even more than her dance class. Sigh.

  4. That would be loves, She loves it.

  5. […] started preschool this year and she did great for the first two terms. Even on the first day she went inside and started […]

Leave a Reply

