•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

20.20

IMG_9221

That is what all this cost me. $20.20! Five bananas, six pears, four white nectarines, six pink lady apples, six kiwis, a bunch of celery, broccoli, snow peas (only a handful because it’s for a stir fry), one red capsicum, one green capsicum, grapes and a dozen free range eggs for $20.20! I went to the wholesale fruit market near my house today, something I plan to do every week, but end up being lazy and getting my produce at the grocery store with the rest of the food. I don’t know why I convince myself it’s a hassle to go to this place, it’s only a couple minutes extra in the car (which is less than five to begin with) and it is a really quick and easy trip. Plus cheap! And the produce is much more fresh. Do you know how much this would cost me at the grocery store? At least $40. Crazy!

I’ve gotten into some bad shopping habits the last few months; buying junk, going every couple days rather than one big shop each week, and spending more than necessary (Really, half the cost? What is my problem?!). I feel like my mind has been in a big fog lately and I credit that to things like the junk and lack of organization in my days. When Andy was on his holiday break I didn’t remember what day it was half the time because the only markers my days had were his work schedule. In some cases that could be funny; getting the days mixed up, but to me it showed how I really need to set some structure for my week. It’s easy to get lost when you’re a stay at home parent and I really don’t want that to happen (or maybe continue to happen). So, I’m changing all that starting today. It’s just a simple grocery trip, but because I’ve mostly stocked up for the week (I will need more veggies) I’ll be able to head to the fruit and veggie shop this time next week to re-stock, and then the week after and so on. Before you know it I’ll have a routine and routines aren’t for everyone, but I think they are something I need.

5 Responses

  1. Those look wonderful! The fruit and veggies we have here don’t even compare right now. Of course, it’s winter here…

  2. I’ve never heard of a capsicum–is it different than a pepper, or just a different name?

    All that food looks yummy!

  3. froglette79, they are pretty good. Just ask my kids who have already put a major dent in the supply.

    sharkey, same as a pepper, just a different name. Something I’m sure you will find as amusing as I did is that pepper spray is called capsicum spray here.

  4. Awwwww…..look at my little babies in the background.

    love ya
    ma

  5. “Capsicum” is WAY cooler than “pepper.” Just like “nappy” is way better than “diaper.” I’m totally going to start saying that now. (Capsicum, that is. I don’t have a reason to say nappy. Although I like the word enough that I might find an excuse.)

Leave a Reply

