•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

It is short, but it counts. Hooray!

Today I took E to the preschool she will be attending (well, hopefully) in January. I can’t believe she’s starting school…OK, “school”, but you know? She is super excited about the whole ordeal and asks to drive by it and have a look every time we’re in the car. She was so impressed with the place today that when it was time to leave she pouted and let me and one of the teachers know she was not happy about leaving.

When school starts in January she will go two days a week for five hours each day and I have to admit that I am very ready for her to go. I love the girl to bits and pieces, but oh boy the sulking and 3 1/2 going on 13 attitude is about to send me over the edge. You wouldn’t think as much sulking is possible as what I endure every. freaking. day. But it is possible, of that I can assure you. Can’t get to the toilet because the door is shut? Why simply ask for help when you can fall in a screaming, teary heap in front of the door instead. As I wrote that last sentence she had a meltdown in the kitchen because she wasn’t able to get her shoes and socks off immediately, all at the same time. I kid you not. And the shoes she was finally taking off? It took four times of me asking to make it happen. Two more times while I’ve been writing she has broke down in tears because she couldn’t have anything else to eat before dinner. Look at this post, it’s not long, yet she has managed three sulk sessions in this short period of time. I should set up a video camera because I know you don’t believe it’s really that bad, but it is. Oh sweet mercy, it is!

So, yeah. Preschool will be a welcome change for everyone involved, but I’m sure I’ll still end up in a screaming, teary heap on the first day.

And she’ll probably roll her eyes and tell me to get a life.

6 Responses

  1. What a wonderful experience for E and YOU! I think preschool is such a good idea for all kids to experience. It gives them a taste of what school will be like and how to interact with other kids. And you’ll enjoy the breaks I’m sure too! 🙂

  2. My son is super emotional like that too. We have many screaming teary heap moments.

  3. Ohhh… The crying. Yes I am there, too. My 4 1/2 year old can’t do anything without a tear session first. It’s a good thing they are still cute at this age otherwise…. well, we won’t go there.

  4. Good golly, she looks all grown up!

  5. Good luck, I hope she gets a place! I’ve just enrolled Hugo and it’s apparently too late (even though he’s only 2 and a half)!

    And good luck with those tantrums (she DOES look so big now!!). She looks absolutely gorgeous in that photo. xx

  6. Oh I understand. 5 hour days?? Wow. JA only went for 2.25 hours everyday. (by the way, he graduated from pre-school last Wednesday with flying colors!) That would be such an awesome break for you! I hope she gets in!

Leave a Reply

