•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

One of these things is not like the others.

IMG_4737a

These are a few of E’s bath toys; a family of three turtles and a blue whale. As with many of her toys she named them after the members of our family. The big turtle is Dad, the medium turtle is E, the small turtle is K, and I am the big blue whale.

When E first told me this all sorts of things ran through my head. Why am I the different one? Am I not giving her enough love and attention? Should I let her have more treats? A later bed time? Where did I go wrong!? And, of course, the only part that really worried me: A whale? I’M THE WHALE?!

All these thoughts subsided the other day, though. A day when E was once again telling me who all the bath toys were. Dad was the big turtle, E was the medium turtle, K was the small turtle and Mum (that’s me) was the mermaid.

A mermaid? Yeah, I’ll take that.

3 Responses

  1. Hee, I love your initial angst…Am I not giving her enough attention or treats? Hee. I would be the same way. Seriously, I would have the market on maternal guilt.

    Also, I’ve always wanted to be a mermaid. 🙂

  2. Cool.

  3. That is too funny. Kids are hilarious. One of my students told his parents he wasn’t coming back to school after I go for maternity leave. Ha!

  4. Of COURSE it’s a mermaid. silly.

Leave a Reply

