•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

Two years in: there’s no stopping now

Today is my two year blogging anniversary. This blog is actually only a little over seven months old, but I wrote my first blog post two years ago today.

Blogging has really meant a lot to me over the last couple years. It has been a social outlet for me at a time in my life where it has been very necessary and hard to come by. I’ve lived in Australia now for five and a half years, the last three and a half in Victoria. We moved over 3500 km from Port Douglas, Queensland to Victoria when I was six months pregnant with E (All driving, with a cat!) which meant I wouldn’t be working when we moved here. A lot of you may not realize this if you haven’t been in this kind of situation, but as an adult it is not easy to make friends if you’re not working or going to school. When you’re at home all day pregnant and, for the most part, unable to drive anywhere because A) A big belly plus short legs makes it hard to fit behind the wheel and B) You’re new here and wouldn’t know where to go in the first place, friends end up being a hard thing to find. Now that E is older I have met a handful of friends through my mother’s group and some in other ways, but having two small children still severely limits the social life so blogs and my other Internet obsessions: Flickr and Facebook (my newest edition) are still very important to me.

I didn’t discover the blogging world until E was 14 months old and I sometimes wonder what my blogging life would have been like if I found them while pregnant. I’m sure it would have been a great way to pass the (extreme amount) of free time I had back then, but I would have had the most boring blog in the history of blogs since all I would have had to talk about was being pregnant and I probably wouldn’t have met all the people I have so far. So, like everything else in my life that’s good and bad, I wouldn’t change a thing.

As much as I’d like my blog to be a completely open place for me to write, it’s not. Even before I told people I “know” about it I still didn’t write freely. Sometimes, most of the time, I wish I could be more open. There have been times I really could have used such a release in the last few months, but it still connects me to the world in a personal way that is necessary. And to be honest I’m not that open and free about my really deep and dark feelings with anyone. Sometimes my mother or husband catch a glimpse of that part of me and lately they have been spilling out when it all becomes too much to handle, but for some reason I hold a lot of that in. I can’t help it, but I think it’s something I should work on and maybe this would be a good place to start. Actually, in saying those last few sentences I think I just did.

I don’t write as much as I used to and this has, unfortunately, ended up in losing a ton of readers which is obvious from the lack of comments these days, but I’m still going to keep it up even if it’s only a few posts a month because it is part of me, good or bad, and there ain’t no denying it.

Yep, I am a blogger. I am a lot of other things as well; a mother, a wife, a sister and daughter, a friend, a photography lover, but I’m really proud to be able to say part of who I am is a blogger. It is a huge and diverse community that is never ending and produces a breed of people like no other. I love it.

Me, E and my internet obsessions

6 Responses

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary! I love blogging to because it keeps me updated on your goings-on.

  2. I hope things are well with you.

    I’m so glad you still blog – you’re one of my favorites. Love your voice, love your perspective. Happy 2 years!

  3. Happy Anniversary! Two years zoomed by like a flash!

  4. Happy blirthday! I still read every post, but always in Bloglines. Sorry to say I don’t always click through to comment.

    I know what you mean about the fear of being open–since my family and friends started reading my blog, I’m the same way.

  5. Happy Anniversary! Or Birthday! Or whatever is appropriate. Two wonderful years for the internets!

  6. Happy belated two years! It’s the new job that keeps me from getting sucked into the blogworld. I’m still here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

