•      Buy art

              Buy my art

  • flickr

  • good things

                nablopomo badge Technogeekery.com

        

          
    Marriage is love.
  • Celebrate!

           Get your own free Blogoversary button!
  • Visitors

      

Water, water anywhere?

So, Australia is running out of water. Fast. The country is currently suffering through it’s worst drought ever. I’ve only known a drought stricken Australia as it has been going longer then the five years I have lived here. While drought is a natural part of life for Australia and even necessary for the survival of certain plants and animals, it just doesn’t usually last so long.

Where I live we are on water restrictions; we can’t water our gardens, wash our cars or do anything with water outside the house. If you have a “grey watering system” (like we do for our veggie patch) or rain water tank then you’re good to go, but if not (and really, why wouldn’t you?) then it’s tough cookies.

Even with these restrictions my city is running out of water. A pipe line is going to be built to bring us water from another town, but without that they figure we’ll run dry by September 2007. Yeah, in eight months!

Coming from someone who grew up in a place where this isn’t anywhere in the near future this can seem so surreal at times. Run out of water? Really? I mean can you imagine turning the tap on one day and nothing comes out? I can’t. I don’t want to.

The Queensland government will soon be putting recycled drinking water into effect. I think this is a great idea. The water, when treated at the highest standards (which they will use), can be cleaner then the water we use everyday now. Unfortunately Queensland is the only state government willing to move forward with this option at the moment. In Victoria, where I live, the Premier says “[Recycled water] is not in our strategy at all.” Great. An option they are looking into is desalination which, from what I’ve been reading, creates by products that only add to the major issue of Global Warming. Is it just me or is this resistance absolutely crazy? There are cities all over the world who use recycled water and they are all fine. I think everyone against the idea has to get over themselves and go with the only decent option out there.

The bottom line: We need to get the water from somewhere and it ain’t falling out of the sky.

the water is running out

Lake Eppalock. Our cities main water supply. I’m not 100% on what the capacity is at currently, but I’m fairly certain it would be under 10%. This is only a small part of the lake, the entire area it covers is huge.

This photo was taken in September 2006 and I imagine it’s an even sadder sight to see now. A. remebers this being nearly full, to the top of the tower, as a kid.

3 Responses

  1. I’m nervous for you. Strange feeling indeed. I don’t understand your government. Recycle the water danm it!!

  2. You know, I’m all for the recycled water use, but… I don’t want to know I’m drinking it, you know. I’ll drink it, but I don’t want to know I’m drinking it because that would squick me out a little too much.

    But yeah, I wish everyone would just stop their whinging and look at the bigger, drier picture.

  3. I am totally with you there, Cafrine! I mean, would I prefer we were in a situation where this wasn’t even necessary to consider? Hell yes. I’m just not going to think about it when the day comes, or at least try not to. 😉

Leave a Reply

